top of page



At the close of each academic year Coláiste Dún an Rí host an Evening of Excellence Awards. This is an invitation event were parents of students who have achieved excellence in their academic work, extra-curricular or sporting achievements are recognised in a formal setting. The night also features guest speakers.

In the past we have had special guests such as Mr Aogán Ó Fearghaíl, President of the GAA (2017). Mr Ó Fearghaíl is a former school teacher in Cavan and his time as President of the GAA was marked by many positive changes in the GAA.


Ms. Catherina McKiernan joined us in 2018. From Cavan she is a former international long-distance runner and was a gold medal winner at the 1994 European Championships and has also won the Dublin and London Marathons.


In 2019 we were joined by Mr Colm O'Rourke, former All-Ireland winning footballer for Meath and current principal of St. Patricks Classical school Navan. Mr O'Rourke has also made a name for himself through his punditry with RTÉ.


With the arrival of the COVID pandemic we were unable to host awards ceremonies in 2020 and 2021 but we resumed the awards in 2022 with our special guest Ms Fiona Kindlon. Fiona is an All-Ireland winning gaelic footballer and All Star recipient from Monaghan. Fiona is also one of our neighbours playing with the Magheracloone club.


2022: Sports Stars of the Year Winners  Mateusz Mlodzianowski and Ava McCaul with Niamh Kindlon


2022: Head Boy Mark Byrne addresses the audience at the Evening of Excellence Awards.


2022: Mateusz Mlodzianowski and Joe McCormack with Mr Victory Ike and the U17 North East Leinster FAI Cup


2022: Binh Hanratty and Caleb Kiely with their National SciFest Awards


2022: All Ireland Shot Put Champion Thomas Williams


2022: The U14 Girls GAA Ulster winners with Fiona Kindlon.


2022: Coláiste Dún an Rí Student of the Year Ms Aimee Reilly

0144 t.jpg

2019: Mr Colm O'Rourke with our 2019 Sports Stars (from left to right) Stacie Carolan, Ava McCaul, Ava O'Reilly , Patrick Power, Kieran Greene and Sean Owens.


Ms Catherina McKiernan welcomed to Coláiste Dún an Rí by Mr. Fergal Boyle (principal), Ms. Carol Lynch (teacher) an Mr. Thomas McCormick (deputy principal)


2017: Uachtaran CLG Mr Aogán Ó Fearghaíl with Sports Stars of the Year Ava McCaul and Oisin Byrne

bottom of page